15 years and counting

Some things we wish had never happened.  The events of September 11th, 2001 changed my world and the world of my wife and kids in ways we could never imagine.

Other generations had similar events of war that changed their lives and all of ours for that matter.

My Dad was 11, my Mom was 8 when Pearl Harbor was attacked on December 7, 1941.  I wish I had talked with them and discovered how that and our subsequent involvement in World War 2 impacted them.

All of my Uncles and my Dad served in the military as it was the thing to do.  Then came the 60’s and the beginning of public protests against our governments involvement in, well I was going to say foreign wars, but from what I read, (and barely recall), the 60’s were filled with lots of questioning of our governments actions.

What I recall in the days following 9-11-01 was a unity of Americans. The terror attacks were not aimed at Democrats, Republicans, men, women, straight or gay, or any particular sub-division of our citizenry.

It was against all of us. Our ideals, our freedoms, our lifestyles.

We are not the perfect country.  We have come along way and we still have a long way to go.  Hopefully we are not becoming the country that our Forefathers sought and fought for independence from in the late 1700’s.

My 1st wish is that we didn’t have to remember 9-11-01 because the attacks never happened.

But it’s my second wish that is more realistic.  That is a wish to set aside the political and social and (fill in the blank) differences and celebrate the freedom we have to have those differences.

Also that we talk and take responsibility for our own actions, behaviors and attitudes.

 

Leave a Reply

