Citizenship is the Gold Standard

On this 4th of July weekend in the United States there is plenty of talk about how we are a nation of immigrants and well, quite frankly, that conversation is one that is true but it’s the wrong conversation.

We all have hearts that go out to those around the world who are needing help. The question is what do we do about it?

Instead of having a conversation about legal or illegal imigration, perhaps we should be talking about citizenship.

Look at this:

The Value of Citizenship

The United States has a long history of welcoming immigrants from all parts of the world. America values the contributions of immigrants who continue to enrich this country and preserve its legacy as a land of freedom and opportunity.

Deciding to become a U.S. citizen is one of the most important decisions in an individual’s life. If you decide to apply to become a U.S. citizen, you will be showing your commitment to the United States and your loyalty to its Constitution. In return, you are rewarded with all the rights and privileges that are part of U.S. citizenship.

Want to know where I got that? It’s from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services website, last updated 3 years ago by our government.

We have a system of immigration that allows people from other countries to come here.  Granted not everyone who comes here wants to be a citizen.  Some are here for a visit, the way Americans like to visit other countries.  Others are here for business, some are here for educational purposes.

We have some who are here for work and others who want to actually become a full fledged citizen of the United States with all the rights and responsibilities mentioned above.

If there is someone in the United States that is not a citizen of the United States, we need to know why they are here.  I just mentioned several legitimate reasons and if there is a reason that fits the criteria, fantastic!

But the undocumented combined with those that have gone underground after overstaying the terms of their visa, those are the ones that we, as citizen of the United States need to be concerned about.

When I was 20 year old I was not legally allowed into bars.  Yet that was the year I drank the most.  I lived in Kokomo, Indiana and went to a couple places with older friends and my age was never an issue.

Except when I went with my over 21 year old friends to a couple of nightclubs in Indianapolis.  The bouncer wouldn’t let me in.  Who was right. me or him?

My legal to drink friends had a plan and as I sat in the parking lot wondering what to do now, I heard one of them call my name from a side door and they snuck me in.

I was an illegal and in order to stay, I had to avoid the bouncer at the door which I managed to do until closing time.  As I walked out he glared at me and said something threatening.

We have a hard enough time determining who the bad folks are who are citizens.  Just like the night club has enough challenges taking care of the over 21 year olds to worry about underage drinkers.

Think about it and let me know your thoughts…

Leave a Reply

