Corruption, Bailouts, Balance & Freedom

On my birthday, I heard a conversation that I’ve heard before, that the free enterprise system is broken, that we need more government involvement, that our system was been corrupted due to greed and we should (give up more of our freedoms) to achieve peace, harmony, health care and get the rest of the world to like us Americans.

Since it was my birthday and I didn’t want to ruin the mood, I let the person talking speak and then I changed the subject. Otherwise, I would have said BullSh*t!
mr-mrs-vern-howard

As the grandson of small town entrepreneurs (whom I never met since they passed away before I was born), I saw the fruits of their efforts. The family restaurant was taken over by my Uncle and then my cousin, before being bought by a long time employee and it lives on in Colebrook, New Hampshire.

The one grandparent I did have growing up for my first 26 years, demonstrated what a person who is free and motivated to feed and take care of her family can accomplish. She was a proud woman who immigrated to the United States over 100 years ago and worked the work, walked the walk and raised two responsible children.

Which leads to my own parents and their involvement with the American Free Enterprise System. It wasn’t until the last three years of my Mom’s life that she started a slight change to accepting money from the government, but that was becasue that was the way the system was designed for those over 65, to sign up for the government sponsored health care programs.

The argument that greed has ruined the American Free Enterprise System is flawed. The argument that government is corrupt is also flawed. But I understand the antidote evidence that can be used to back up both of those arguments.

One argument at a time.
1)We need more government regulation to protect the people. Evidence given, the Enron Scandal. Contrary evidence, Two of the richest Americans, Warren Buffet and Bill Gates are using their excess wealth to help those less fortunate.
2)Next, government is corrupt. Evidence given, the Illinois governor selling off Obama’s Senate seat. Contrary evidence, the other 40+ states.
3)The rest of the world hates us. Evidence given, the public opinion polls in relation to our involvement in the Iraq war.Contrary evidence, people are dying to get into out country from Mexico, Cuba, and through legal immigration because of the opportunities that our country offers.

Due to the nature of news, Bad News grabs headlines, Good News is filler material, we rarely get a balanced view unless we make an effort to see the other side of the argument.

How about outlawing marriage. Obviously it is an outdated institution that doesn’t work anymore with the divorce rate around 50%. What a scandal that must be. We need tighter government regulation or marriage bailouts, take your pick.

See the absurdity of it all?

Leave a Reply

