Election Eve 2008

I have refrained from writing on this site for a couple of weeks, even though I had the urge to several times.  By noon Tuesday, I will have voted in this years election, and yes I know who will be getting my vote for each and every office on the ballot.  I’ve done my homework, I’ve changed my mind a couple of times as I researched, and learned more and more.

It comes down to a matter of trust.  Just like my relationships with friends and family, I want to trust the person I am voting for will do their best to follow through with what they say.

I don’t expect perfection.  I don’t expect much change in a year or two to problems that have taken decades to develop.  As I have sat on various boards and committees at work, in public service, in trade organizations, I have come to understand that the bigger the organization, the harder it is to make quick changes.

But that is okay.  I still hope for a Federal Government that will be limited by the constitution, and the rights of states and local governments to fill in the blanks on the rest of the rules that we live by.  We will see.  Perhaps I will be more involved in the political process in the years ahead, maybe not.  But one thing is certain.

I will vote on Tuesday 11/4/08 with thoughts of my parents who went before me (Today would have been my Dad’s 78th birthday), and my kids who will go after me in the years ahead.  I will continue to vote in upcoming elections, and no matter who wins each race, I will support them because of the office they occupy and pray that they will do God’s will, not just ours.

Perhaps it is fitting that my polling place is in a local church.

Leave a Reply

